Listen.

Is listening a passive or active act?  If you take the time to run both sides of that question, then you would find its both passive and active at different times.  Listening is a dynamic process that not only affects you and I as individuals, but as parts of a larger social community.  This is evident in music on numerous levels.  Listening and listening style can define an artists genre, stylistic nuances, instrumentation, notation, timing… everything.  So, in today’s hyper-sensitive, hyper-active, attention-span murdering environment, I encourage you to take a deep breath, close your eyes, and listen.  You can thank me later.

Pick 1:  Balam Acab – Oh, Why

More like… Oh, wow.  Balam Acab is capable of creating lush, immersive atmospheric environments that tie together his interesting sample selections and minimal approach to instrumentation.  The result is something that is very much alive and emotional.

Pick 2:  Mount Kimbie – Maybes (James Blake Remix)

God damn James Blake.

**Bonus1:  Four Tet – Unspoken

I couldn’t let not posting this one go.  This has been a personal favorite of mine for the past month.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Before I let you go though.  I’d like to close on the same not I began with.  Listening is paramount in defining and painting the experience you know as life.   Do not underestimate it.  This guy knows what I’m talking about:

Until Next Time.

-Francis

About ollie713

I play good music... I think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Listen.

  1. Thomas Houghton says:

    “the experience you know as life”….props

Leave a Reply

